Smiles & Memories [Reblog]

I originally wrote the following thought on October 3rd. This is the anniversary of my father’s passing.It is also less than one month prior to my birthday.As one could imagine this time of year is rather difficult for me. I was sitting and reflecting on my life at that particular moment. Reflection often helps me to get things sorted and into perspective. Here was my conclusion:

 Trying to think and stay positive, motivated, and encouraged. Today makes 4 years since my dad passed. It’s not any easier now than it was on that day. I’ve had some breakdowns recently but today I’ve been strong. Forever grateful to those that help keep me uplifted and let me cry versus telling me not to. Today my minds been filled with nothing but happy memories.


 There are times when bottled up emotions become overwhelming. Experience has taught me that more harm than good results from allowing this to occur. Depression is real. Depression is something that I have battled and overcome one session at a time. Today I find happiness in the ability to release hurt and happiness when I feel the need. Having understanding friends helps tremendously. Even if it is a single friend that sits in the room quietly as I talk or cry is a relief. Reflecting on where I stand today versus even two years ago brings a smile to my face. One of my biggest goals of returning to school and graduating was accomplished. This milestone was dedicated in memory of my Dad!


Reference: Ball, D.S. (2014). Model MzDezy. Retrieved from http://desireball.wix.com/mzdezy#!Smiles-Memories/cyh4/1

2 thoughts on “Smiles & Memories [Reblog]

  1. This is so beautiful. Congrats to you! I lost my grandmother October 26th last year and it still hurts like hell. I applaud you for overcoming your battle with depression and hope one day I can do the same. Great post, thank you for sharing.

    • Thank you and I’m glad that you liked it. It can be difficult to come to terms with the loss of someone close. Your heart and mind definitely will not forget, but with time I think that we learn small ways to cope.

Let me know what you think!

