Separation Anxiety

Cloudy overcast.

Raindrops and street lights has paved the road a glittery gold.
And I slip, turn and skid out. My treasure is home to you.

Only you.

It’s been a full week, 4 planes… frequent flights to the coast.
Only your voice keeps my sanity in check.
You can’t imagine what it’s like to anticipate your embrace.
I’ve been dreaming about this and that I can’t wait.

Only you.

This drive is taking so long…
And it’s trouble for you every second I wait.
Looked at your picture 3 times, such a beautiful smile…
Absence makes the heart grow fonder.
I guess what they say all the time is true.

Only you. Only you.

Faint light glint between the clouds.
Tapping on the window pane stay in sync with the twinkling stars.
The rain competes with the smoothness of the radio.
I listen to soft jazz thinking of you.

Only you.

Out of a full week, 4 restless nights…frequent checks for missed calls.
Your voice makes my heart race.
Anticipation of your arrival gives me butterflies.
Stories are made of this and I can’t wait.

Only you.

This weekend is so long…
Flipping through an album makes me long for you more.
Those cheeks, that nose, your handsome smile…
Absence make the heart grow fonder.
I guess what they say is true.

Only you. Only you.

*This is a collaborative poem that was written by a friend an I*

Let me know what you think!

