Love of Oneself

New Year Resolutions have never really been something that I participate in. I do however, continuously work on improving myself. Things that I have accomplished in doing this include: taking charge of my health and being proactive, becoming independent, taking more “me time”, not eating red meat, and learning how to say “no” to name a few.

Screenshot_2013-11-26-10-36-16-1

I saw this Charlie Chaplin quote and felt like it described me so well.

At some point I realized that I have to live for myself. To be able to travel, meet people, write poetry, and anything else my heart desires my health has to be on point. I would go without cable to ensure that my medication would be paid for when I didn’t have insurance. To rid migraines and my hair falling out I stopped answering every phone call.  In order to move upward and forward there were weights that needed to be put down and loose ends that needed cut.

Changing my perspective on life was one of the best decisions that I’ve ever made. I love me. I love me. I love me. When I learned this, listened to it, embraced it, and projected it my world changed. This new ‘tude could’ve been likened to egoism, but I’ll agree with Mr. Chaplin and say it is Love of Oneself.

Happy New Year!

❤ MzDezy

Let me know what you think!

