Dear Granddaddy

When my Grandfather passed, I felt like the ground beneath my feet had permanently fallen out. I walked around daily in a mental fog. Around the same time my 3 year relationship was unraveling, my living situation was uncertain, and I was technically unemployed because of a hiring freeze. My Granddad was someone I would call daily and gain wisdom from. Clinical depression set in deep and I was at the lowest point of my life. One suggested activity was to write a letter to my Granddad. Fast forward: It has been 6 years since his passing. His 72nd birthday would have been December 14th. Happy Birthday Granddaddy!

 

Image

Dear Granddaddy,

I praise, and thank God daily, for delivering you and welcoming you into his house. I feel like a very lucky and fortunate person to have had you in my life for so long. You were, and always will be a great part of me. You were my heart, help build my soul up, and took my hand leading the way down the path of life. You were my biggest fan. There’s not a day that passes that I’m not reminded of you. You taught me so much about life that I’ll never forget; from sewing a seed, to splitting wires. I miss you so much, and can’t wait til we can hug again. I live my life differently because of you. Promise still kept — put my health first. Life’s not easy with you gone, that’s for sure. Wish I could call you 2 or 3 times a day, like old times. I’m still hanging in there — if only by a string sometimes. I’ll continue to push and succeed. I want to make you proud.

 

Love you always,

Dezy Lou

Let me know what you think!

