Naturally Meet Tangie

Once in a while I like to host giveaways on my blog, Facebook fan page, or Instagram. Tangie entered AND won a giveaway for a CurlBOX subscription! The first CurlBOX was courtesy me, NaturallyMzDezy. This idea stemmed from all of the feedback I have seen about people not being able to successfully signup for CurlBOX when their limited subscriptions opened up. The rules for entry were to show me a goal that you set and also explain the steps you had taken to work towards your goal.

Tangie is currently planning a 2013 summer wedding!! She is using this as motivation to lose a winning goal of 50lbs and to keep it off. Tangie’s goal, motivation, and progress have been great!

Tangie’s progress over 2 months

What motivated you to set a goal and actively work towards it?

The main thing that motivated me was the depressing moment when I realized that I couldn’t fit any of my jeans. They were beyond tight. And looking at the image in the mirror feeling disgusted. And the icing on the cake was my proposal. I really got myself into gear. I definitely didn’t want to put on a wedding dress and not feel comfortable and secure with myself.

Have you set any milestones along the way?

The milestones that I’ve set along the way include not going over my calorie count per day, drastically reducing my sugar intake, eating the appropriate servings at meal times, working out 3 to 4 days a week and I’ve lost 2 lbs. It’s not much but it’s a start.

Do you have any tips for someone with a similar goal?

The tips I have would be to pace yourself, don’t over do it. Set goals that are within reach and that way you were become discouraged. And have patience. You didn’t gain the weight all in a week and it won’t disappear in a week neither.

Right: after 2 months

What about for others that are having trouble sticking with their goal or even getting started?

It can be hard and challenging especially when you have a family and others depend on you for there needs. Or days where you just don’t feel like during your workout. Those are challenges for me as well. But try and dig deep within yourself and visualize the goal that you are trying to reach. Having a workout buddy helps the both of you motivate each other. Keep positive people in your circle who help keep you go your path to reach your goal. And for those who haven’t got started, it’s never too late. Set a goal that you want to reach. Start off slow and walk. Walk around your neighborhood or walk on your lunch break.

Have you had any goals specific to your hair? What were they?

My main goal is to keep my hair healthy and chemical free.

Did you reach them…how?

I’ve been maintaining my goal in having chemical free hair since 2002. It actually has always been an easy decision. Now the journey has been difficult 😉 But I’ve accepted the fact that it’s mine and I have to learn how to manage it.

If you have to choose a song that represented your hair what would it be?

I don’t know a song that can express multiple attitudes of Gladys. That’s my hair’s name 😉

Is there anywhere online that you can be found…blog, instagram, website, etc.?

I’m on Instagram and more pictures can be found there- iammacsnaturalfiancee

Congratulations on winning the giveaway and on the progress you have made!!! Proud of you and your goal and drive are definitely inspiring!

Let me know what you think!

